Better & Cheaper Dupe for Philosophy’s Purity!

wpid-20130916_190714.jpg

You must be thinking I am nuts by the title of this post…I know you are! But for real guys, I have done it! I have found the best dupe for the ultimately loved face wash out there Philosophy’s Purity. If you watch Youtube videos, go to Sephora, or are an avid blog reader…then you know that Purity is one of the most if not the most popular and sought out face wash recently. Although it is talked about, and people swear by it, I am here to tell you the price and quality of the Philosophy Purity face wash is not worth the price and time you spend to purchase it…and I have a better and cheaper alternative; Phisoderm’s Ph Balanced Cleanser.

If you have the cash, and do not have acne prone, oily, or dry skin, then sure go for it, buy the face wash that everyone has! But if you are like me and are on a beauty budget, have acne prone skin, and have combination oily to dry skin, then keep reading loves, momma is going to hook you up! :p

wpid-20130916_190736.jpg

So here we go! A 1 to 1 non-bias and honest review of the two! Pros + Cons, personal experience, and more!

#1 Purity by Philosophy:

wpid-20130916_190808.jpg

Personal Experience:

To be honest..I had been using the Phisoderm face wash for years before I tried the Philosophy’s Purity cleanser. Although it was amazing, I wanted to try something new! After getting my ear talked off by beauty gurus on Youtube, about how amazing Purity is, I decided to give in and buy my own bottle. So upon going to Sephora, I found out how darn expensive this face wash really is. I thought to myself why in the heck is face wash, something you put on then wash off, so pricey?! But…I caved in and figured it must be worth the money considering all the hype it has caused. I was too poor at the time to afford the larger bottle for $22, so I figured the 3 oz bottle for $10 would be a good investment to see if I liked it first, before I bought a larger bottle.

When getting home, at the end of the night, I jumped in the shower, and gave my face a good wash. I was certainly not impressed upon first impression. But no product is amazing, with only one try. To be fair, I decided to use most to all the product before formulating any opinions of the face wash. After trying most of the wash in the bottle, I was certain it was not for me…or my wallet. Also, to give it a fair shot I tried it in the shower, out of the shower, with cold & warm water, after exfoliating, and without exfoliating, with a vibrating facial tool, and even just my hands washing my face. Let’s just say I tried it every which way in every condition possible…my opinion has not changed one bit.

Pros:

  • Ph Balanced
  • Creamy not soapy
  • Gentle around eye area
  • Contains mostly natural ingredients
  • Residue free finish
  • Very accessible
  • Well known name brand/reputation
  • Nice packaging Design
  • Descent Smell
  • Good range of sizes (Nice to have a Travel Size)

Cons:

  • Cost (Smallest bottle sz is $10, then 22, then $33, and $41) !!!!
  • It is a pour bottle, not a pump (Unsanitary and messy)
  • Doesn’t behave like a ph balanced cleanser
  • Consistency is almost of water
  • Contains Alcohol
  • Contains Color Dye Yellow
  • Doesn’t claim to be dermatologist recommended

Thoughts: Although the packaging is very eye catching and clean looking, the functionality of the packaging is not great. The bottle would be a lot better if it were a pump, this really annoys me and wish it were changed! Although it claims to be ph balanced, it still leaves my face kind a blotchy, red, and not at all any calmer or clearer and is not dermatologist recommended apparently. It did not help any existing acne, and I felt as if my face became dryer. After washing, it feels like I still had foundation left on my skin, and I needed to wash my face again. This product did not benefit my skin in any single way. It was very expensive, and was not at all worth the cost. Although it is nice in a way that you can buy it almost anywhere, buy a number of sizes, and is natural and eye-friendly, the product contains alcohol and color dye which is pretty bad in my book considering I have very sensitive skin.

wpid-20130916_190837.jpg

On top: Phisoderm’s nice pump bottle…and the small lonely unscrew to open Purity :p

On bottom: The first pump in the picture is Purity looking weak and running…The Phisoderm is on bottom looking milky and bold 🙂
wpid-20130916_190911.jpg

 #2 Phisoderm Ph Balanced Facial Cleanser:

wpid-20130916_190824.jpg

 Personal Experience: I first bought this face wash in 8th grade when my skin was more problematic. Back then I had a lot of cystic and hormonal acne, mostly on my chin and t-zone 😦 Since the 8th grade however, my skin really has come a long way and is mostly cleared up and calm. I definitely attribute that fact to this face wash! Although I stopped using it off and on, I only tried other cleansers because I felt tempted by raved about products and brands. This however is the only product to transform my complexion and not only clear up my acne but control my oily and dry patches.

Each time I would try another type of face wash, or the latest brand, my face would end up irritated, broken out, super dry and flakey, or more oily. After I abused my face each time by trying something new, I would always end up using the Phisoderm wash, to fix and repair my skin! Now, I only use this bad boy, and will never go back. I wash my skin with this every day, and most nights when I remember to :p I exfoliate 3 times a week or whenever needed with my facial vibrating brush as well. This is all I am doing for my skin now, and it has been a fool proof routine for beautiful skin! I pair the cleansing with an occasional toner, and everyday face moisturizer with SPF and I am in love with my skin now! 😀

Pros:

  • The Price! I got mine for $5 for 6 oz. (Double the size of the smallest Purity bottle, and half the cost)
  • Creamy milky wash, not harsh or soapy
  • Leaves my skin calm, glowing, and happy (Acting how a ph balanced cleanser should!)
  • Contains all kinds of natural ingredients exactly the same as the Purity’s: Mineral Oils & Leaf Juice (Plus this one has Chamomile and aloe to sooth skin! Also Flower Extract and Vitamin E wish moisturizes your skin)
  • Dermatologist Recommended
  • After washing, my skin doesn’t feel tight or dried out
  • PUMP BOTTLE! The bottle has a nice and easy to use pump, no mess, spilling, or wasting…and is more sanitary!

Cons:

  • Accessibility…I got mine from Bed Bath and Beyond, you can probably find it at Target or Walmart, but may take some searching
  • Not as well known brand
  • The smell is very soap like smelling
  • Only comes in one size bottle
  • Not fun to have in mouth or eyes! Lol…

Thoughts: As far as a facial wash, this is a 10 out of 10. I love it and will not buy another face wash anymore! This is so worth all the money you spend on it, and when I say that I mean it’s amazing for $5! Even though it should be more expensive than the Purity, for how amazing it works! It is creamy and healthy feeling on my skin, and one wash is all I need. It is gentle, and my go to product. It has made my face clear, calm, and fresh looking. It doesn’t leave my skin dry, but still controls my oil buildup. Apart from being dermatologist recommended, and full of amazing ingredients, it even takes all my foundation, powder, primer, and what not off! Although you can’t find it just anywhere, and it tastes like dirt and stings a bit if you get it in your mouth or eyes…but why am I getting it in those places in the first place?! Only changes I would say is to the outdated packaging design, and smell…but hay it is better than alcohol and dyes being in the formula, and getting it everywhere like the Purity.

A Final Word: Obviously I gave both of these facial cleansers a try. I was not biased and  I tried both, and gave a good length of time to form an opinion and see how my face adjusted. I really did want to love the Purity, and wanted to see what all the hype was about. Although it cleans your skin some what, it falls short in price, handling, and results. It is a waste of your money, and time. I am not being harsh, these are just my completely honest opinions, and I will not buy the Purity cleanser again. There was nothing special about it besides its’ amount of fans. I am not being paid nor sponsored to say anything or promote anything, I just figured I would help you guys out and let you know what’s up with facial washes! :p I love the Phisoderm, and one hundred percent recommend it to anyone whether you have acne prone or clear skin, it works great for my family and I who all have different skin types.

Please give it a try if you are a non believer in the  so called magic of the Purity like me! :p Let me know what you think of either of these products, whether you love one or hate another. Leave me some love in the comment section 🙂 or let me know if you love Purity and think I am just bat sh*t crazy 😀 ha ha…

 P.S- Leave me some ideas to blog about, or more products you would like to see reviewed or dupes found for! ❤

 Want More?

Come see what I love on Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/pearlsnheels

Get a closer look on my Instagram http://instagram.com/jillybillyy

See what I want to buy from Wanelo http://wanelo.com/jillybob

 Business Inquiries only email me at Makeup@pearlsnheels.com

 Thank you guys so much for reading, and much love Pearlsnheels ❤

xoxo

One thought on “Better & Cheaper Dupe for Philosophy’s Purity!

Let me know what you think here!